DARKWOOD - Parts & Score, TEST PIECES (Major Works)

Samples available

PDF sample scores

PDF To view Darkwood Solo Cornet click here

Availability Available
Published 4th September 2016

Continue shopping

Search again

Home page

DARKWOOD - Parts & Score, TEST PIECES (Major Works)

Cat No. JM74049
Price £65.00
Composer: Dan Price
Category: TEST PIECES (Major Works)

Set as the THIRD SECTION test piece for the 2017 British Brass Band Regional Championships.

You Tube Score and Sound presentation to follow in next few days - please check back for this great presentation.

Programme Notes
Blackley village is a northerly district of the city of Manchester, and is the home of the last remaining city centre brass band. Blackley appears in the Doomsday Book and its name is a derivative of the Anglo-Saxon Blaecléah which means ’Darkwood’ or ‘Dark Clearing’
1. The Boggart
The first movement of the suite is named after Boggart Hole Clough, a local urban nature reserve. A clough is a local colloquialism for a steep sided valley or gully and this particular clough is believed to be the home of a Boggart, a mischievous spirit or imp.
2. The House on the Hill
The second movement of Darkwood is subtitled “House on the Hill”, and evokes images of St. Andrew's Church which is located in Higher Blackley. Perched high on the hill, it overlooks the village and across the valley towards Manchester city centre.
3. Blackley Village
The final movement depicts Blackley’s historic evolution, from its medieval roots as a small residential hamlet, through to the present day and its importance as
an industrial part of the city.


Can't find what you're looking for?

If you are unable to find the item you want on our website please call 01355 245674 (international +44 1355 245674) or email sales@justmusicuk.com